You Ain’t Got Nothin I Want, She Said

BIG NEWS! Over Thanksgiving Break, Hannah and Lee and I have the opportunity to work with a professional photographer and live out some of our more fantastical editorial whims.

We’re all quite excited, and are each setting our minds to coming up with ideas, images, moods, and concepts we want to explore, which will magically meld into a beautiful and unique shoot! …That’s the plan, anyway!

So I thought I’d share with you my little “inspiration board”:

[images courtesy of ffffound, dripbook]

Hannah and I have exchanged a few facebook videos with potential makeup concepts, which include playing with layering textures using paint, serious eyebrows, nude lips, and some contouring work. I wanted to build off the atmosphere of our makeup looks to create an overall aesthetic simultaneously reflective of and contrasting with the strength of the faces.

Another source of inspiration for me was Cormac McCarthy’s absolutely stunning novel Child of God. As often happens when I immerse myself in a particularly compelling literary or cinematic world, reading this book has tinged my aesthetic lens with its unique and inexplicable starkness; I’m craving the novel’s untamed wilderness and poignant, subversive, and rather disturbing atmosphere, tempered by a sad sort of beauty in the form of beautiful lighting and vast expanses of chilling, autumnal nature…

Anyway, despite the fact that my attempts to verbalize my ideas have fallen short (as usual), suffice to say that I am busy dreaming up all manner of editorial fantasies! I’m really excited to put together this shoot from a very directed, focused perspective and to follow the interweaving of our ideas through the entire process of creating a cohesive final product.

You’ll see the results soon!

-Ava

3 responses to “You Ain’t Got Nothin I Want, She Said

  1. oh wow awesome collection of images!

    bespok.com

  2. wideawakethoughts

    that is one incredible mood board. i hope the photo shoot goes super well, that’s so exciting!

    love your blog – would you like to trade blogroll links?

    x Jessy

    http://www.wideawakethoughts.wordpress.com

  3. Wow everyone, it is Thanksgiving Day! I’m happy with my extra day off, and I am planning to make something fun that’ll probably involve a moto trip and seeing something new in Bourbonnais I haven’t seen yet.
    You write something new at Thanksgiving?

Leave a Reply

