The Cranes Are Flying

Blame it on the trendiness and overstimulation of fashion month, which is leaving me oddly exhausted, bored, and frustrated for some reason, but I’ve been kind of hiding from the “fashion world” lately… other than checking up on my considerably heavy bloglovin’ roster, I’ve been hunkering down in front of my school work, which has led me to develop a STUNNING new obsession…

A few weeks ago, I posted about one film I’ve watched in my Soviet and Russian Film class (Eisenstein’s Strike), and I absolutely CANNOT keep myself from waxing poetic about another export from the Soviet Union. This time it’s the 1957 film The Cranes Are Flying, which is legitimately the most gut-wrenching, stunning, gorgeous, amazing, orgasmic, terrifying, psychologically engaging, beautiful film I have ever watched. I DO NOT SAY THIS LIGHTLY.

I strongly, strongly, strongly, STRONGLY encourage you to watch it (you can find all of it on youtube -subtitled- here)… but to give you an idea of how absolutely powerful it is, here are some screen caps:

img_current_181

vlcsnap-839835

19099_Cranes-01

3685567035_743c51919c

2086134859_32d95767c0

cranesareflying02

cranes_11

3686376014_b631d6cd25[images sourced from Google Images]

Still images can’t really do it justice; so much of this film’s genius is in its captivating movement and the  use of truly innovative and ambitious camera techniques. Not to get all technical on you, but… just LOOK at these scenes:

There are so many more moments I could show [and so much more commentary I could write], but in the interest of not *completely * turning off my readers, suffice to say that YOU NEED TO SEE THIS FILM.

ANYWAY, HERE’S MY ATTEMPT TO MAKE THIS ALL RELEVANT TO WHAT IS [SUPPOSEDLY] A FASHION BLOG : I’m definitely definitely definitely inspired sartorially by this film. I adore the stark simplicity and minimalist femininity (yes, I did just employ the term “minimalist femininity”…) of Veronica’s (the main female character’s) costumes and makeup and am struck by the distinct Russian aesthetic sensibility that pervades the film–one that is mostly practical, quietly elegant, and homogenous but at times flirts, albeit in a carefully measured way, with elements of Western frippery and fanfare.

This’ll get me wearing black turtlenecks, enveloping coats, equestrian boots, flowing chiffon, and some geometric prints and lines to reflect the gorgeous environment as well as Veronica’s particular aesthetic. JUST YOU WAIT.

CONGRATULATIONS IF YOU SURVIVED MY DIATRIBE. I’ll stop talking now. I promise.

-Ava

4 responses to “The Cranes Are Flying

  1. YES YES YES YES YES YES YES. Thank you for marrying our two greatest interests in one post. I’ve still never seen The Cranes are Flying but have heard from multiple sources the same thing you’re telling me now: it is one of the most important cinematographic achievements in film history. I definitely want to chat more in-depth about your film class (I can’t remember — did y’all watch Ivan the Terrible?) so I’ll go into more detail via phone or summat, but… YES YES this made me very very happy.

  2. Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  4. i love the images,quite inspiring!
    xx
    marian

Leave a Reply

