The Preppy Handbook

theelectric3

dripbook21

dripbook22

jak&jil

(images from dripbook, Jak & Jil and the electric)

MUST take real pictures of my outfits. I WILL DO IT I SWEAR…. but honestly, part of the reason I haven’t been is because I haven’t been wearing things I consider to be very interesting lately… It definitely has to do with practicality (I wore heels ONCE since I’ve been in college… to the dining hall…), but also with the fact that I’m surrounded by so much homogeny (read: straight preppiness) that I don’t feel as inclined to bow to every crazy sartorial whim I have…

I KNOW, I KNOW, I should have more confidence and NOT CARE how everyone else looks and all that, but… when it’s 8 am on a Tuesday morning sometimes you realllyyyy don’t want to be standing out in the crowd.

ANYWAY. There is an upside to all this: my style is evolving, and I’m actually really excited to see where these new influences lead me… I’m thinking it’s going to be all about stripes, sweaters, and plaid mixed with my usual leather and sequins, and all of that thrown into some intriguing corseted proportions…

BRB I’m embracing my preppy side… 🙂

-Ava

3 responses to “The Preppy Handbook

  1. hey, i think anyone who photographs their outfits for a blog is very brave! i love to dress up everyday, but am too shy to share with my readers!! plus, it must be a lot of work to find something amazing each day/week to share…good for you for working on it!!
    xox

  2. YAY for new style direction!

    It’s cool to see the…younger *cough* crop of you all going to college and putting effort into getting dressed. We stayed in sweats and jeans when I was there…the horror. LOL. I don’t even think I had a pair of heels I ever wore on campus.

    Ahh, the memories…

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

Leave a Reply

