Chewing on Gunpowder

Okay… so I stumbled upon this editorial by photographer Bruno Dayan and I was [and remain] COMPLETELY FLOORED. The surreal, shimmering aesthetic is absolutely captivating, as is the juxtaposition of elements of childlike fantasy and surrealism with eerie, at times menacing or jarring, undertones. The overall effect is simultaneously chilling and exhilarating, which is exactly what I’m looking for in an editorial right now…

bruno dayan

fas1_06

fas1_07

fas1_08

fas1_09

fas1_10

fas1_11

fas1_12

fas1_13

fas1_14

…wow. 

And in other news… the title reference happens to be from this wonderful M.I.A. tune I’ve been humming recently… somehow it seemed appropriate [or maybe it’s just on my mind…]:

-Ava

13 responses to “Chewing on Gunpowder

  1. i just did a post on his work too (yesterday and last week)…he’s amazing! love the pictures you selected too!
    xox

  2. I love these photos, they have a fantastic feel to them!

  3. wow, these are so gorgeous. I LOVE the second one

  4. MIA is great — love her.

  5. I love these photos– especially the ones that feel like the girls are swimming through the air. so dream-like

  6. These images exude magic!! 🙂

    Great post, all are being saved into my Inspiration folder ‘as we speak’

    thanks 🙂

    x

  7. These images exude magic!! 🙂

    Great post, all are being saved into my Inspiration folder ‘as we speak’

    thanks!! 🙂

    x

  8. Wow, insane photos! Adding to my inspiration folder as well!
    XOXOXO
    Libby
    http://fashionconfectionairy.weebly.com

  9. I loove these pictures!

  10. hey I love your blog! This editorial is gorgeous and I actually just did the same DIY in the previous entry the other day with plain white hanes tee that my mom was going to throw out, and I’m going to buy leggings tomorrow to cut up! =]

  11. these images are gorgeous and btw you have a lovely blog 🙂

    lacysmess.blogspot.com

  12. Great photos. Definitely a nice change from the usual glam editorials you see everywhere. I love the dream-like surreal and magical quality of these. Thanks for sharing!

  13. those pictures are out of this world……..mmmmmmmmmm

Leave a Reply

