NEW YORK DAYS 1 + 2

Hello, all! I’m so very excited to be in New York City; it’s been really great so far! This post is probably going to be quite scattered, due to the fact that I haven’t been able to get myself to a computer until now… I’m kind of overwhelmed with how much stuff I want to talk about, so this will also be a very picture-heavy post…

dsc042551NEW YORK NEW YORK NEW YORK!

The ensemble– day 1:

dsc04280(vintage leather jacket, American Eagle oversized tee shirt dress, Loeffler Randall boots, Marc by Marc Jacobs bag, five dollar bin jewelry)

The first thing I did when my feet touched that wonderful Manhattan ground was to mosey on over to Topshop. It was quite the experience– there was still a line, and entrance into the store was granted by a formidable bouncer. I looked at just about every item on the store’s three floors, waited in a slow-moving line to try on my armload of clothes in the dressing room and.. bought two things, one or both of which I might end up returning… Not that I didn’t love the experience, and the store was impeccably organized, but somehow I ended up disqualifying most of the ton of stuff I’d picked up to try on. The things I did buy (a printed tank dress and a Jonathan Saunders black dress) were more expensive than I was anticipating (the Jonathan Saunders dress was a pretty big-ticket item), and I’m still ruminating on whether they’re the best way to spend my money… I love the tank dress because I just about NEVER find anything in a color/print that I actually like, but it’s very…short… and upon further inspection quite sheer. However, I’m loath to return it because it IS something colorful and printed that I would love to have in my wardrobe… Anyway, I think I’m going to keep browsing and see if anything seems like a better purchase than my Topshop finds… if not, I might keep the stuff, I might return it… On the bright side, they gave me a free tote bag!

…Sorry about the hard to follow Topshop rant/discussion/stream of consciousness. To keep things moving, here’s what I wore today:

dsc04292(vintage leather jacket, J Crew scarf, Ralph Lauren sweater, Reiss skirt, Loeffler Randall boots, five dollar bin jewelry — again! I can’t get enough of it!…also, in the interest of full disclosure, I didn’t really remember to pack any more jewelry…)

Today, I went to this amazing found object/antique store, in which I snuck some pictures before I knew we weren’t technically allowed to take any. For your inspiration:

dsc04295

dsc04298

dsc04299

dsc04305

dsc04308

dsc04306

Will post about another very exciting purchase tomorrow! 

-Ava

8 responses to “NEW YORK DAYS 1 + 2

  1. Wow…have fun at NYC! I have to go check out Topshop one of these days.

    Can’t wait to see your exciting purchases!
    http://stylescientist.blogspot.com/

  2. Thanks!! Your blog is great btw 🙂

  3. Those Loeffler Randall boots are so so versitile, great buy
    xxx

  4. loooove all of your outfits! JEALOUS you’ve gotten to go to topshop! i’m planning on going next weekend *fingers crossed*

    http://www.prettyexquisite.blogspot.com

  5. cute! welcome to nyc. lovely photos! i have that same ‘lil mj bag. my favorite…
    xx sarah

  6. i wanted that mbmj bag so bad!

  7. I’m new to this blog. Apologize for asking this though, but to OP…
    Do you know if this can be true;
    http://www.bluestickers.info/ringtones.php ?
    it came off http://ringtonecarrier.com
    Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

