If I Had A Heart

Did I miss something? This guy’s gotta be really big or something, right? Anyway, I’d never heard of Chadwick Tyler before, but upon seeing these photos here I immediately knew I had stumbled on something very significant.  I looked him up, and his website contains these strange, haunting photographs.  It’s as if he’s approaching things from a different angle – I’ve often heard of making what is ugly beautiful, but he seems more concerned with making the beautiful hideous, contorted, and undeniably ugly.  The model’s look starved and savage.  And yet.  I’m in love.

tiberius2-siri_img_5782

tiberius18-brit_mg_3149

tank_mg_2531

spring08

raise-to-walk_mg_5322

ponytail_mg_9768-copy

plastique07_mg_6583

mirage_mg_3876

miloumilou2

melody_mg_1768

koebach003

kathleendd2

diana-f_mg_3754

These pictures remind me of the aesthetic that has fascinated me lately (or maybe forever) and has admittedly been popular lately.  Rodarte springs to mind (in fact, one of his shoots features Rodarte designs) as well as Alexander McQueen.  Musically, I am reminded of the darkly compelling melodies of Fever Ray AKA half of electronic duo The Knife.  The two music videos she has released are among my favorites ever, mostly because they enhance rather than detract from the music.  Here, the sinister “If I Had A Heart”:

Check out her video for “When I Grow Up” as well, it is equally effective.

-Hannah

One response to “If I Had A Heart

  1. these are SOO hauntingly beautiful.

Leave a Reply

