03.31.09

Today I wore:

dsc04095Vintage bolero vest, thrifted bathrobe/dress/all-purpose dose of plaid, Marc by Marc Jacobs belt (this came off of my homecoming dress), Nicholas Kirkwood shoes.

dsc04098I really can’t stop wearing my Nicholas Kirkwoods. I suppose I should make a concerted effort to wear different shoes at least every once in a while so I don’t get tired of them, but I don’t think that’s even possible! I’m addicted! Perhaps I’ll branch out in the shoe department just for the sake of variety, but honestly, it CAN’T get any better than this! 

dsc04103 I love this bathrobe, as well. It’s the perfect versatile item: in technicality, it’s a bathrobe and can function as such, but it can also be worn as a dress (as you see here; most people never suspected its true sartorial identity until I told them) or fun robey-coaty thing. My favorite way to wear it is probably like this; I don’t have any other skirts/dresses that are this length, and I like the longer, looser proportion. Plus, it’s a bit of a shout-out to the wonderful early-90s grunge aesthetic of My So-Called Life (if you’ve seen this show, I hope you agree that it is amazing; if you haven’t, you SHOULD). 

Well, I’m off to do a mountain of homework and make college choices…

-Ava

5 responses to “03.31.09

  1. I absolutely love those shoes! I think I featured them on my blog at one point, actually. Nicholas Kirkwood is the best!

    Sydnie
    http://www.takemeouttotherunway.blogspot.com

  2. Wow, I really love those shoes! I think that I featured them on my blog at one point, actually. I love Nicholas Kirkwood!

    Sydnie
    http://www.takemeouttotherunway.blogspot.com

  3. OMG! Those Kirkwoods rock! And love the electric blue color! You’ve inspired me to wear my lilac and silver Kirkwoods, they are somewhere in the new apt I have just moved into. Lol

    • Thanks! And aren’t they so brilliantly designed? I was worried about wearing such a serious heel all day, but they’re so well constructed that they don’t rub blisters or slip or anything! The perfect heels– that man is a genius!

      (I love your blog, by the way! You have great style!)

      -Ava

  4. OH Gosh, thank you for your compliment! love your style as well and super cute blog! I’ll be checking it daily from now on 🙂

Leave a Reply

